As an employer in Florida, it is important to understand and comply with the payroll tax registration requirements set by the state. Registering for payroll tax ensures that you meet your obligations to withhold, report, and remit taxes on behalf of your employees to the appropriate government agencies.
How Florida Payroll Registration Works
There is one payroll tax setup task you may need to complete in Florida to get your new hire on payroll for the first time. You can follow the guide below to help you get registered directly with the Florida agencies or use Mosey to do it.
Use Mosey to register for payroll tax in Florida.
Avoid the manual work and headache of registering with state agencies yourself. Automate it with Mosey and stay compliant.
As an employer in Florida, you are required to register with the Department of Revenue for reemployment tax (Unemployment Insurance tax) if: (a) You are liable for federal Unemployment Tax, (b) Have had one or more employees in 20 different weeks within a calendar year, or (c) Have quarterly payroll of $1,500 or more in a calendar year. Note: You do not need to register for withholding tax as there is no personal income tax in Florida.
File Business Tax Application
Apply for a reemployment tax account online by completing the Business Tax Application on the Department of Revenue website. Upon approval, you will be issued a reemployment tax account number. You will also get a business partner number used across all of your tax accounts. Note: This is Florida's combined business taxes application. During the application process, you will have the option to also register for Sales & Use Tax.
Review your compliance risks, free.
Use our compliance checkup to learn more about what to do to be compliant in any state! It's free and takes less than five minutes.
In 2022, New York reported a gross state product of over two trillion dollars, the third highest number of any state in the US. That’s a lot of business activity—and it represents a large number of employers subject to New York’s workers’ compensation policies.
New York imposes strict workers’ compensation requirements and steep penalties for violations. If you employ workers in New York, you’ll need to comply with the state’s workers’ compensation laws to avoid fines or actions against your business.
Paid sick leave (PSL) is time off that allows employees to recover from short-term illnesses or attend medical appointments without losing their regular wages.
Unlike unpaid leave, which is federally mandated under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), PSL is employer-funded. Generally, employees accrue this type of leave based on hours worked.
For instance, you could earn one hour of PSL for every 30 hours you work, up to a set limit, such as seven days per year.
Practically every employee in the United States is subject to federal tax withholding. In a nutshell, federal tax withholding keeps a certain amount of your employees’ paychecks to send directly to the government, estimating how much they owe for each tax year.
Understanding the ins and outs of federal tax withholding is crucial for proper compensation, especially if you have employees in multiple states. So, let’s take a closer look.
Ready to get started?
Sign up now or schedule a free consultation to see how Mosey transforms business compliance.