As an employer in California, it is essential to understand the process of payroll tax registration. This registration is a mandatory requirement by the state, ensuring that you are compliant with California's payroll tax laws when hiring employees.
How California Payroll Registration Works
There is one payroll tax setup task you may need to complete in California to get your new hire on payroll for the first time. You can follow the guide below to help you get registered directly with the California agencies or use Mosey to do it.
Use Mosey to register for payroll tax in California.
Avoid the manual work and headache of registering with state agencies yourself. Automate it with Mosey and stay compliant.
If you plan to have employees in California, you must register for an employer account with the Employment Development Department within 15 days of your first payroll of $100 or more. You will be registered for: (1) Unemployment Insurance, (2) Employment Training Tax, (3) State Disability Insurance withheld from employee wages, and (4) Personal Income Tax withheld from employee wages.
Enroll in the Employment Development Department e-Services for Business
Create a username and password for the Employment Development Department Employer Services Online portal.
Register for Employer Payroll Tax Account Number
Login to e-Services for Business to register as a new employer.
Review your compliance risks, free.
Use our compliance checkup to learn more about what to do to be compliant in any state! It's free and takes less than five minutes.
SAN FRANCISCO, CA – September 27, 2023 – Mosey, the leading state compliance platform, today announced partnerships with industry leaders Gusto, Stripe, and Sequoia Consulting Group. Each company has seen a dramatic increase in the demand for tools to help businesses get compliant and operate throughout the US. By partnering with Mosey, they will better meet the needs of the businesses that rely on them.
In today’s world, it can be difficult to know what constitutes doing business in one state, let alone multiple states, making it increasingly difficult for businesses to stay compliant.
A thorough understanding of paid sick leave laws is a strategic advantage in a dynamic business environment. With regulations varying from state to state and even city to city, businesses need to stay informed and flexible.
Whether you’re a startup in Seattle or a growing enterprise in Chicago, the many rules and regulations of paid sick leave laws affect how you manage your team. These need-to-know components include everything from accrual rates to family member definitions.
As of 2023, five US states require employers to provide short-term disability insurance to workers: California, Hawaii, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island. Eligibility requirements, employer contributions rates, and authorized providers vary by state—but in general, businesses with at least one non-owner employee who performs work in one of these states need to obtain coverage to maintain compliance with state law.
What is state disability insurance (SDI)? State disability insurance (SDI) refers to a collection of state programs that require employers to offer short-term disability insurance to workers.
Ready to get started?
Sign up now or schedule a free consultation to see how Mosey transforms business compliance.